Everything Fades

Everything Fades

I thought it would be easy to leave,

you made it look effortless.

I guess you knew you’d always come running back,

but this time it was different.

I cried for hours, my tears could not hold back,

mascara stained my skin.

The black lines resembled train tracks to me,

standing in the mirror.

Needed a drink so I went to the bar,

‘nothing new for me’ you’d say.

Drinking shots of anything they got,

spending my rent and emotions.

Then the band set up on stage,

and as soon as they played,

It reminded me of you,

as they sang all your tunes.

Down my whisky, tried to stand up and leave,

to the soundtrack of our life.

Eyes blurry, tears roll down my cheek,

and everything fade away,

Everything fades away X4.

………. ………. ………. ………. ………. ………. ………. ………. ………. ……….

The song that I wrote when my daughter’s father and I separated. This signified the end of an era.

Leave a Reply

